Win 14 For Bottrill In Belper RC 25 Mile Time Trial‏

Posted · Add Comment

With the Tour De France kicking of in Yorkshire, its was a great day to be riding a bike on Saturday, with Marcel Kittel Giant-Shimano, taking the Victory on stage one. The rest of the country where trying to repeat his success. It would be very hard not to be motivated to riding a bike, and in Leicestershire a number of riders did not disappoint.

With the forecast rain and high winds giving away to bright blue skys and light winds. There would be a number of riders riding to personal best on the Etwal to Uttoxeter course. The class of the field was strong and the standard was soon set high With Charles Taylor- South Pennine Rc setting a tremendous ride and ripping over 40 secs of his personal best 48:40. Taylor, has recently taking a training programme devised by Matthew Bottrill. So great to see some massive improvements.

Its was then Brett Harwood- Terry Wright Cycles, who would dip under 49 minutes for the second time this year 48:47.

With the the 120 nearly home. Last seed of the day would be Matthew Bottrill, after breaking the 50 mile competition record on the same roads just one week earlier. Bottrill Came in a determined mood and would be after the 25 mile record of 45:46. Hitting the opening section of 12:9 miles hard, it was clear the record was not going to be in his grasp. But Bottrill was still flying and rode to a time of 46:55 the fastest time ridden in the Uk so for this year by any rider.

Asked about his winning ride Bottrill replied ” It was just not meant to be today, I was around 10 watts of the schedule I needed. But the conditions where just not quite right for a record ride. I’ve backed right of this week, so I could have a mental break from training, but from Monday its going to be full gas all the way for the National 25 in 4 weeks time. I’ve already said to my coach Bob Tobin I want him to push be harder than ever!”

1 Matthew Bottrill 00:46:55
2 Charles Taylor South Pennine RC 00:48:40
3 Brett Harwood Terry Wright Cycles RC 00:48:47
4 Matt Sinclair Lutterworth Cycle Centre RT 00:49:08
5 Adam Gascoigne Team Pedal Power 00:49:33
6 Steve Irwin Kingston Whls CC 00:49:46
7 Ian Holbrook Stone Whls CC 00:49:53
8 Daniel Barnett 00:50:18
9 Ian Cox North Lancs RC 00:50:19
10 Tom Ward Team Echelon-Rotor 00:50:55


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All search results