Bottrill Takes Win Number 12 in Walsall RC 25 Mile Time Trial

Posted · Add Comment

With Just four Days until the British time trial championships, this weekend riders from around the country spent there time putting on the final touches towards the title race.

In Leicestershire 120 riders took part in Walsall Rc 25mile time, warm weather conditions and just a slight breeze, would produce come great time’s on the out and back 25 mile course. Riders would face a block head wind start and tail wind finish. The race got underway at 2 pm and it was Danial Barnett that set the pace high with the first sub 30mph ride. Stopping the clock in 49:59.

It took a while for riders to eclipse this time and it was race across America team winner Keith Murray- Ferryhill Whs CC,in the form of his life did a blistering 49:14 to take the lead.

Now with just 10 riders left it was up to Matthew Bottrill- to take the start, one of the pre-race favorites for next Thursday Championships, Bottrill did not disappoint with the 13 miles leg covered in 25:45, with the fastest section now to come Bottrill, put every aero aid he had into action and was hitting speeds of 40 mph plus on the return leg. Covering the last time miles in 17:25-34.4mph!!! Bottrill just missed getting inside 47 minutes, but was held by an early accident on the road. But a clear victory to make it win number 12 of the season

Catching up with Bottrill at the finish we asked about the up and coming National champ’s ” I cant wait to be honest, I’ve trained so hard to hit this race in peak form. And done everything possible to produce the ride of my life on the day. There’s been no stone un-turned and when Im on the start line, I can say no matter what the result Im ready-So bring it on!” Some of the best tour riders in the world will be riding. Sir Bradley Wiggins, Alex Dowsett, Girant Thomas, Dave Miller, Luke Rowe and a host of the Untied Kingdom’s domestic Professionals.

1. Matthew Bottrill 00:47:02
2. Keith Murray ferryhill whs cc 00:49:14
3. Daniel Barnet 00:49:59
4. Ian Holbrook stone wheelers 00:50:21
5. Jon Surtees teamswift 00:50:56
6. Ben McIntosh crewe clarion wheelers 00:51:00
7. David Ellis mapperley cc 00:51:02
8. David Watson coventry rc 00:51:06
9. Richard Dean barnsley rc 00:51:06
10. Paul Robinson lyme racing club 00:51:24

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All search results